Board of Commissioners

Printer-friendly versionSend by email

Norfolk International Airport is operated by the Norfolk Airport Authority. The Norfolk Airport Authority is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is an independent autonomous agency of the City of Norfolk. The Authority is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of up to nine members appointed by Norfolk City Council for four-year terms, and an Executive Director overseeing day-to-day operations.

The meetings of the Board of Commissioners are held on the fourth Thursday of every month unless changed or canceled by vote of the Board. Special meetings may be called at any time. The schedule of meetings is posted below.

The current Board of Commissioners is comprised of the following individuals.

  • Gus J. James, II, Esquire, Chairman
  • Blythe Ann Scott, Esquire, Vice Chairman
  • Malcolm P. Branch, Treasurer
  • Deborah H. Butler, Commissioner
  • Dr. Harold J. Cobb, Jr., Commissioner
  • William L. Nusbaum, Esquire, Commissioner
  • Lyn M. Simmons Jones, Esquire, Commissioner
  • Chris G. Stephanitsis, Commissioner
  • Robert T. Taylor, Commissioner

Board of Commissioners 2014 Schedule of Meetings

January 23 // Cancelled
February 27
March 27
April 24
May 22
June 26
July 31
August 28
September 25
October 23
November TBD
December TBD